Marvel Contest of Champions is not just a simple “fighting” game. Although it contains impressive graphics and exciting battles, it uses highly complex mechanics in the background. One of them is the champion classes.  As in the comic books, every superhero belongs to a particular class, which brings some advantages and disadvantages. If you do not know how the class mechanics work, you may find it difficult to win some fights. This is why we prepared this guide. Below, we will explain what champion classes are, list the advantages and disadvantages of these classes, and help you to choose the most appropriate champion for your fights.

MARVEL Contest of Champions: Class and Champions Guide

What Are Classes and Why Are They Important?

As you know from comic books, every superhero has an “origin” point. Some have come from space, and some have gained their superpowers as a result of an experiment gone wrong. These origin points determine which class the characters belong to. For example, Spider Man is a champion in the science class, because he won his powers as a result of a scientific experiment. (Ok, the result of a spider bite, but that spider has seen some horrible things.)The Marvel Contest of Champions has a total of six champion classes (*). You can see them in the list below:

  • Cosmic: Alien superheroes or the ones who got their power from… space.
  • Mutant: We guess you all know what these are – X-Men, anybody?
  • Mystic: Heroes that gain their power through magic.
  • Science: Heroes that are the result of a scientific experiment, gone wrong or completely as intended.
  • Skill: No super powers but they are very good at fighting. We salute you, Captain America.
  • Tech: Again, no superpowers but they have access to incredible techs, such as body A flying body armor that can shoot rockets, to be exact.

So, what do these classes mean? Each class provides a certain bonus to that character. This is called a “class bonus”.

MARVEL Contest of Champions: Class and Champions Guide

(*) There are actually seven character classes, but not among the seventh grade playable champions. This situation may change in the future.

Class Bonuses Explained

Simply put, each champion class is stronger against another class. But also weak against a different class. Remember the Superman’s weakness against kryptonite? This is similar to it – for example, the power of Mystic champions is stronger against the Cosmic champions, because magic beats space apparently, but its weaker against the Science champions, because, well, science always beats magic. Below, you can see a complete list of class bonuses:

  • Cosmic Class: Strong against Tech Champions, weak against Mystic Champions.
  • Mutant Class: Strong against Skill Champions, weak against Tech Champions
  • Mystic Class: Strong against Cosmic Champions, weak against Science Champions
  • Science Class: Strong against Mystic Champions, weak against Skill Champions
  • Skill Class: Strong against Science Champions, weak against Mutant Champions
  • Tech Class: Strong against Mutant Champions, weak against Cosmic Champions

So, how do you know which champion belongs to which class? For this, you need to look at the icons next to their portraits.

MARVEL Contest of Champions: Class and Champions Guide

The symbols we’ve marked indicate the class of the champions. You can also see this information in the heroes’ info screens.

You can also see these icons and their meanings in the form of a short list below:

  • Red Fist: Means that the champion belongs to Skill class
  • Blue Planet: Means that the champion belongs to Cosmic class
  • Yellow DNA: Means that the champion belongs to Mutant class
  • Purple Eye: Means that the champion belongs to Mystic class
  • Green Tube: Means that the champion belongs to Science class
  • Blue Circuit: Means that the champion belongs to Tech class

MARVEL Contest of Champions: Class and Champions Guide

Paying attention to this distinction gives you an advantage, especially in challenging battles. At the beginning of the game, you will almost never feel the effect of the class bonuses, because every fight will be easy to complete in a few seconds. However, as the game progresses, you will be increasingly challenged. After a certain point, you’ll need all the advantages you can get and Paying attention to class bonuses can help you win a tough fight.

The Full List Of Champions According To Their Classes

There are almost 150 characters in  Marvel Contest of Champions. You don’t need to take a look at each of them to learn which champion classes they belong to. Below, you can see all the characters and the champion classes to which they belong. But before we continue, let’s make an important reminder: Marvel Contest of Champions is a game that is frequently updated and with almost every update, new characters are added to the game. Also, some characters are removed from the game. In other words, these tables show the situation at the time that this guide was prepared. While you are playing, some characters may have changed or you may see a character that is not listed here. Don’t worry, even if all of the heroes are entirely different, the statements we make about champion classes and bonuses will still be valid.

Agent Venom, Ægon, Black Panther (Civil War), Black Widow, Blade, Crossbones, Daredevil (Netflix), Elektra, Falcon, Gwenpool, Hawkeye, Karnak, Killmonger, Kingpin, Korg, Massacre, Moon Knight, Night Thrasher, Punisher, Taskmaster, Thor (Ragnarok), Winter Soldier

MARVEL Contest of Champions: Class and Champions Guide

Angela, Black Bolt, Captain Marvel, Carnage, Corvus Glaive, Drax, Gamora, Groot, Heimdall, Hela, Hyperion, King Groot, Medusa, Ms. Marvel (Kamala Khan), Phoenix, Proxima Midnight, Ronan, Spider-Man (Symbiote), Superior Iron Man, Thanos, The Champion, Thor, Venom, Venom the Duck, Venompool

MARVEL Contest of Champions: Class and Champions Guide

Archangel, Beast, Bishop, Cable, Colossus, Cyclops (Blue Team), Deadpool (X-Force), Domino, Emma Frost, Gambit, Iceman, Magneto (Marvel NOW!), Omega Red, Nightcrawler, Old Man Logan, Rogue, Sabretooth, Storm, Psylocke, Wolverine (X-23)

MARVEL Contest of Champions: Class and Champions Guide

Doctor Strange, Doctor Voodoo, Dormammu, Ghost Rider, Guillotine, Iron Fist (Immortal), Juggernaut, Loki, Magik, Mephisto, Mordo, Morningstar, Scarlet Witch, Symbiote Supreme, The Hood, Thor (Jane Foster), Unstoppable Colossus
Abomination, Ant-Man, Captain America (Infinity War), Electro, Hulk (Ragnarok), Joe Fixit, Luke Cage, M.O.D.O.K., Quake, Red Hulk, Rhino, Sentry, She-Hulk, Spider-Gwen, Spider-Man (Miles Morales), Void, Wasp, Yellowjacket

MARVEL Contest of Champions: Class and Champions Guide

Civil Warrior, Doctor Octopus, Ghost, Green Goblin, Howard the Duck, Hulkbuster, Iron Man (Infinity War), Iron Patriot, Kang the Conqueror, Nebula, Punisher (2099), Red Skull, Rocket Raccoon, Sentinel, Spider-Man (Stark Enhanced), Star-Lord, Ultron (Classic), Vision (Age of Ultron), Vulture, War Machine, Yondu

MARVEL Contest of Champions: Class and Champions Guide

You may have noticed that some superheroes enter multiple champion classes. This is due to their origin points. For example, Spider Man is listed under both the “Tech” and “Science” categories. In fact, they are not the “same” Spider Man: One is classic, and the other one uses the armor supplied by Tony Stark. So, you can see different versions of a champion under different classes.

Now, you know everything about the champion classes and bonuses: It is time to start creating chaos in the arenas! To find out more, we recommend that you take a look at our guides about the battle system and tips & tricks too. Also, you should definitely learn how to set up the controls according to your play style. Good luck!