Game Guides

Beginner’s Guide to Ragnarok Origin – Everything You Need to Know as a Newcomer

Ragnarok Origin is about the same experience that you can expect from the original MMORPG, except this time ported to mobile devices, and with a very different 3D graphical style, though you can also play Ragnarok Origin on PC with BlueStacks. The result is a game that you can enjoy just as much as its popular predecessor, and that offers just as much intricacy when it comes to leveling, gearing, changing jobs, and progressing, in general. Luckily, Origin is a bit more streamlined and holds your hand a bit better, compared to the original, so there’s little risk of getting lost. 

Beginner’s Guide to Ragnarok Origin – Everything You Need to Know as a Newcomer

With that being said, there’s still a lot to find in Ragnarok Origin, and you’ll need to know about a lot of different aspects in order to progress efficiently. For this reason, we’ve created this beginner’s guide for Ragnarok Origin, where you can learn everything you need to start off on the right track.

Choosing the Right Class for You

We’ve mentioned in our class guide for Ragnarok Origin about how the class system works in this game.

In a nutshell, everyone starts off as a regular adventurer class, which has only a few basic skills and exists essentially to teach you how to get started. However, once players reach level 10 during the tutorial, they will be able to choose their first class transition, which will be the first major decision in your character’s progression, considering how diverse the classes are in this game.

Beginner’s Guide to Ragnarok Origin – Everything You Need to Know as a Newcomer

Without getting into too much detail, since we’ve already explained that in our class guide, here’s a quick rundown of each class progression, as well as their basic role:

  • Swordsman > Knight > Lord Knight (Tank, DPS)
  • Acolyte > Priest > High Priest (Healer)
  • Mage > Wizard > High Wizard (DPS)
  • Thief > Assassin > Assassin Cross (DPS)
  • Merchant > Blacksmith > Whitesmith (DPS, Trader)
  • Archer > Hunter > Sniper (DPS)

Your class choice will obviously depend on your preferred play style. However, here are our personal recommendations for class choices:

  • Swordsman and Archer: Tank and DPS, respectively. Ideal for solo play.
  • Mage and Thief: Strong DPS but more complex than the previous two.
  • Merchant: Unique class that’s ideal for making money.
  • Acolyte: The dedicated healer of the bunch. Highly sought after for group content.

How to Increase Your Stats Effectively

Now that you’ve chosen a class, the next step for developing your character is actually increasing their stats. 

Beginner’s Guide to Ragnarok Origin – Everything You Need to Know as a Newcomer

Every time you level up, you will receive attribute points that you can invest to raise your character’s stats. These stats, in turn, govern how well your character performs in combat. However, not all classes require every stat, and in some cases, you might find that it’s best to stick to no more than three stats, depending on the class and the role you wish to perform.

For instance, a Swordsman can be built as a tank or a DPS. To achieve the former, you simply need to sink most of your points into VIT to make them basically unkillable. On the other hand, by sinking points into STR, DEX, and AGI, a Swordsman can become a decent DPS class. 

Luckily, if you think you’ve made a mistake by leveling the wrong stats early on, you can always reset your attributes by using a Reset Stone. You get three of these items for free early on, though you’ll need to pay for it using Catnip if you wish to reset your stats again later on. Luckily, you really don’t need to respec with most classes—the only cases where you really need to do this is either if you made a mistake, or you wish to switch roles such as in the Swordsman example we mentioned above.

Beginner’s Guide to Ragnarok Origin – Everything You Need to Know as a Newcomer

To further illustrate the importance of stats, here’s a brief rundown of the most important aspects that each of these parameters can affect:

  • STR: Increases damage of melee weapons and maximum inventory weight.
  • AGI: Increases attack speed and FLEE.
  • VIT: Increases max HP, defenses, and HP regen.
  • INT: Increases magic attack, max SP, and SP regen.
  • DEX: Increases damage of ranged weapons, hit chance, and casting speed.
  • LUK: Increases crit rate and crit defense.

Farming Experience and Leveling Up

Like in most MMORPGs, the way you level up in Ragnarok Origin is by getting enough experience points. The best way to earn this resource is either by completing main and side quests, or by hunting in the field. However, unlike other games in the genre where you can simply activate auto-combat for hours on end to grind automatically, you can only farm enemies for a limited time every day.

Beginner’s Guide to Ragnarok Origin – Everything You Need to Know as a Newcomer

Beginner’s Guide to Ragnarok Origin – Everything You Need to Know as a Newcomer

Every day, each player gets 120 minutes of battle stamina. This resource is what lets players earn XP and items from hunting monsters in the field. This stamina only depletes whenever the player is in combat, and once it’s gone, they will stop receiving rewards from hunting. 

Players can also use another resource called Freya Luck to extend the farming time each day. This resource is used in place of battle stamina, though players who activate it will only receive items and not XP from hunting. Everyone gets 60 minutes of Freya Luck each day, and players can accumulate up to 420 minutes of it. 

It’s worth mentioning that, in contrast with Freya Luck, battle stamina does not accumulate. Instead, all unused stamina is converted to XP the next day. Regardless, it’s always worth spending all your battle stamina on good grinding spots, while you’re better off saving Freya Luck for when you want to farm for items.

Hunting MVPs and Minis

This is one of the most important parts of Ragnarok Origin as it’s a great way of scoring rare items. MVPs and Minis are, in essence, boss enemies that spawn in the world and that, upon defeating them, grant some of the rarest and most powerful items in the game.

Due to their difficulty, MVPs require a party in order to hunt. However, this is not the only reason why a group is necessary; the main reason is because loot and drops are distributed according to various factors such as who gave the enemy the first hit, who dealt the most damage, and how gave the last hit. In this sense, to be safe, it’s much better to form a group beforehand and collaborate with other players to take the monster down.

Beginner’s Guide to Ragnarok Origin – Everything You Need to Know as a Newcomer

Mnis are very much the same, though they’re not as strong as MVPs, and can sometimes be soloed by the stronger players. Nevertheless, they also give interesting and important items, so they’re always worth hunting. It’s worth pointing out here that you can use Bloody Branch items to spawn Minis, in case you don’t want to wait for them to spawn.

Keep in mind that players are limited to only 5 Minis and MVPs per day. Every kill after the limit will not grant any items or loot to the participants. Also, you can always check the spawn zones and timers for all MVPs through the event menu.

BlueStacks Roundups


Click to Install

Get access to the most comprehensive gaming content in our weekly newsletter.

Play your favorite Android games on PC.