RAID: Shadow Legends on PC – Combat Mechanics You Need to Know to Win Battles

RAID: Shadow Legends on PC – Combat...

RAID: Shadow Legends is one of those mobile games that takes the concept of RAID-leading to the next level with its intricate progression system and complex, turn-based combat. Given the fact that RAID is a gacha type of game, combat is naturally automated. However, during more difficult fights throughout dungeons and arenas, not to mention when faced against clan bosses, you’ll need advanced tactics in order to emerge victorious. Fortunately for you, we’ve done our homework and come bearing the gift of strategy.

As we’ve mentioned in our guide to hero shards, the quality of your champions has a definitive impact on the outcome of your battles. More importantly, if you wish to get all of those 3-star rewards from the Campaign Map, you’ll need to severely restrict your hero pool from the usual 4 to just two. Yikes!

Colour-Coded Combat

The first and most important aspect about RAID is the fact that each champion belongs to an element, which also gives them their colour, weaknesses and strengths. If you were too eager to get to playing and skipped over this part of the tutorial, we’ve got you covered. You might even be tempted to think these things don’t matter as much. Well, think again. Here’s the elemental schemata of the game, which you should learn by heart, as it will matter regardless of the fight ahead of you.

The elements are colour-coded in the following way – red is force, green is spirit, blue is magic, and purple is void. Red-coloured champions are strong against blue ones, but weak against green ones, while the latter are puny against blue ones. Naturally, magic units are good against spirit ones, but tend to crumble when matched-up against force heroes. Whenever you’re facing a difficult challenge that seems impossible to overcome, remember to check whether your heroes are vulnerable to the enemy units and the other way around.

For instance, in this caption, the green arrows above the heads of your enemies remind us of the fact that they are weak to your attack. If the arrow is yellow, it means that you won’t benefit from any bonus when attacking them, while the red arrow tells you they are highly resilient to your type of damage. How powerful are these combos when you get them right? Well, just think of the fact that they almost always guarantee a critical hit, which is double your normal damage.

In our case, affinities saved our skin more times than than we can count by making it possible to deal immense amounts of damage before our enemies do. When we checked the numbers at the end of the battle, it’s usually 35-40% more damage when we are stronger.

Play RAID: Shadow Legends on BlueStacks

 How to Play for the Win

In the beginning of the game, you’ll be overpowered enough for elemental affinities not to matter so much. But once you progress through the campaign missions for a little while, the difference starts to get more and more noticeable. At some point – sooner, rather than later, trust us – the faceroll approach won’t work anymore and you’ll find yourself met with a big, fat defeated screen. Fret not.

Sometimes, you can work your way around your current line-up being weaker by having a good combination of heroes. For more in-depth information about the latter, you can check out our guide to beating the early game. Another viable solution is to time your abilities so that you can dish out the most amount of damage when this is needed, usually at the last stage of every encounter.

For instance, in the situation above, we’re clearly unprepared to face this boss that our main hero is actually weak against. In this case, our Spirithost’s Strengthen skill had been used in the previous wave because we were too lazy and we just let it auto-play. The problem with that is that now, when our Galek’s Hellraiser comes online, we won’t benefit from the additional 25% damage increase. Unfortunately, this ended up costing us the entire encounter and we had to start over.

Instead, what you should do is time your abilities in such a way for them to be available when you need them the most. In our case, Galek’s powerful AoE has a 3-turn cooldown. What this means is that he will need to be able to attack twice before being able to use it again. If he’ll attack once more in this wave and get to do it again in the following one, then it would be a waste not to use it now. Just look at how gorgeous it is.

Finally, don’t forget that dungeon bosses have no maximum hero limit. Because the goal there is to get upgrade materials, rather than to optimize your line-up so that you’re using as few champions as possible, you can roll a full, 4-man squad.

Play Better with BlueStacks

Because we play RAID on BlueStacks, all of these tactical choices and decisions are much easier to make. We’re not bothered by lag spikes or endless loading screens and we can easily read the abilities because, well, we’re not staring at the game on a minuscule screen. Another neat feature about the BlueStacks emulator is that it lets you enjoy the stunning graphics the devs worked so hard to polish. It would be a waste to see them squandered for lack of a bigger screen, wouldn’t it?

Now, you know everything there is about combat in RAID: Shadow Legends. With this knowledge, you can fire up your very own instance of the emulator and see through some of the encounters you’ve never managed to beat or performed poorly on. Remember, the more stars you have on the campaign map, the bigger the rewards for you. And we’re sure you don’t want to give up on the chance to get a Rare hero or better.

Download BlueStacks Now!